Amandine – chocolate cakes

This was my favorite prājiturā – cake – when I was a child. We would go out to cofetārie (patisserie) on Sundays and this cake was one of my favorites. I remember my grandfather and I going out, in our best outfits and going to the patisserie in the center of the town. He would buy me a small cake and a soda and he wold tell me a fun story. Happy memories.

a1

Ingredients:

For sponge cake:

  • 260 g sugar
  • 8 eggs
  • 40 ml water
  • 50 ml oil
  • 30 g cocoa
  • 150 g all-purpose flour

For filling:

  • 4 eggs
  • 200 g sugar
  • 330 g unsalted butter , at room temperature
  • 2.5 Tbsp cocoa

For syrup to moisten cake:

  • 400 ml water
  • 200 g sugar
  • 2 Tbsp cappuccino

For chocolate glaze:

  • 250 g chocolate
  • 150 ml whipping cream

Preparation:

Sponge cake:

Beat egg whites and water with an electric mixer until stiff peaks form. Add sugar and beat until dissolved. In a separate bowl, mix egg yolks and oil. Fold in the egg yolks. Combine the flour and cocoa. Slow down the mixer and carefully blend in the flour and cocoa mix until it’s combined. Preheat oven to 180°C  and bake for about 25-30 minutes, or until brown (you can insert a toothpick in the centre and if it comes out clean then it’s ready).

Filling:

Beat the eggs and the sugar in a bowl over a pot of boiling water until thick and creamy. Then add half of the cocoa and mix until well combined. Remove from the heat and set aside to cool. Cream the butter and add remaining cocoa. Combine with the chilled egg mixture.

Syrup:

For the syrup, combine water and sugar and stir over medium heat until sugar is dissolved. Add cappuccino and bring to a boil. Remove from the heat and let it cool.

Assembling:

Place the cake (bottom side up) onto your work surface. Let it cool and then cut the cake horizontally in half. Moist each part with the cappuccino syrup. Using a spatula, evenly cover the top of the first layer with the cocoa filling.  Place the second layer on top. Cut into squares.

Glazing the cake:

To make the chocolate glaze, place the chocolate and whipping cream in small saucepan over low-medium heat. Stir continuously until smooth. Set aside for a few minutes until it becomes warm and has a pouring consistency.

Pour the glaze onto the center of each square and carefully spread it to the edges of the cake. You can decorate with chocolate or some whipped ccream. Just be creative..

a2

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Hello Beatrice,
    It looks awesome! I ll try it!
    Thank you again.
    Yeliz

  2. Gina says:

    Hi I’m Romanian and I love this my mom used to make this every time, my mother forgot the recipe and I finally found this ! I will try thank you

    1. Bettinna says:

      Good luck! Hope you’ll like this recipe. I do bake those treats often for friends. Make sure it’s soaked in syrup before adding the glaze 🙂

  3. Rebekah Popescu says:

    Thanks Bettina! My husband is Romanian and these are a favourite of his so I’m planning this as a Valentines Day treat. Just curious, what size should the cake tin be for cooking the sponge? Many thanks. Rebekah

    1. I use a 20×30 cm cake tin. But you can also use a round 24 cm one. Have a wonderful Valentine 🙂

  4. Rebecca Whyte says:

    How many people does this recipe serve?

    1. Hello!
      This one I make for eight. I use a 20×25 cm tin to bake the cake. Good luck!

  5. isabel ramirez says:

    how big is the whole cake because i need to feed 30 kids

    1. This one is for about 8-10 pieces. You might want to triple the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

